How it’s going!

Well this week has been good for getting my quilt sewn. I have put a lot of blood sweat and tears into this thing! This week I finished sewing all the last blocks I had to sew together, the 8 X 8. Then I worked on actually worked on sewing those into strips that are as long as a queen size quilt. I have mentioned it before, but it’s easiest for me to just lay it across my bed and see where the ends fall, as to how long or wide the quilt will actually be.

So, once I finished sewing the strips together, I very nervously, decided now I need to start sewing the strips together to get the top of my quilt put together as a whole. Right now I just have almost all of them just pinned together for now. I did practice sewing the two long strips together with just the two that I could put at the bottom, just in case I messed it up! However, it went easily, I had no problems and it looked great.

20160222_193352
The pinning has begun!

I find it so much easier to pin everything first, which was a recommendation from my mom actually. You see, when you pin all your strips together, you can just slide them in the machine one after another saving you some time, and it saves some thread. Usually, I would just do one at a time and then pull it out of the machine, when you do this, it pulls a lot of thread out with it, so there is a method to the madness!

Since I’m getting closer to sewing the strips together and getting the top of my quilt completed, I have been researching ways to attach the back to the front. I will just put a solid brown on the back of the quilt, so that it matches (and it’ also a little less expensive material). The middle of the quilt is this fluff stuff that comes on a big roll and it’s called batting , and this is more or less used as a filler or the stuff that gives the quit substance to keep you warm. It’s not to thick and it’s not too thin, and is made specifically for quilting.

20160222_193305
Just keep sewing!

 

So, one of the ways I found to tie them together, it to actually tie them together. This method uses yarn. With a big needle you can come to the corners of your blocks on your quilt and pull the yarn through it, and make a knot. The second method, and the one that would probably look best on an adult quilt, is sticking all the pieces (the top, batting, and back material) through your sewing machine, and where your 8 x 8 blocks meet, sewing straight down a line, and do this for each row of blocks. You can do this by hand and it would probably look even nicer, but for the sake of time, this time I will opt for the sewing machine!

Leave a Reply

